MauiHawaiiTheWorld

Shedding Light in the Darkness

Chaka Khan

chaka

Got to talk with the legendary Chaka Khan today. She’s playing Maui next week and I’m super excited.

While Chaka is hailed as the Queen of Funk, she’s so talented across many genres. I can’t think of any other artist who on an album (her most recent “Funk This”) could so brilliantly cover Joni Mitchell’s “Ladies Man,” Jimi Hendrix’s “Castles Made of Sand,” and Prince’s “Sign O’ the Times.”

Sometimes she feels like people restrict her artistically by putting her in a box, “because of my skin color,” she says. “I’m still trying to fight my way out of that box.”

Chaka is currently working on a new “eclectic, sort of unplugglish, earthy” album, of “songs that have meaning as I am a witness to all that is going on on this planet,” she says. And she’s completing a Joni Mitchell project, “a CD of my favorite songs of hers.”

Leave a Reply

